An Experienced Board for Local Governance

WBS is governed by an independent Board of Directors, operating in terms of a Trust Deed. The Trustee is Trustees Executors Limited. KPMG is our auditor and day to day management is undertaken by a team of experienced and highly trained executives and staff.

Because WBS is locally owned and operated it does not receive directives from a head office in Wellington, Auckland or overseas. All Directors on the Board are Wairarapa residents.

Colin Gilbert Oldfield

Chairman (Masterton)

Colin Oldfield became a Director of WBS in January 2012. He was Managing Director of Oldfield Group Limited, a roading contracting company with branches in Masterton, Wellington and Nelson. He currently holds several directorships locally and nationally, including with Forsyth Morison Limited, Glendonald Farm Limited, Wedgelock Equipment Limited, Renalls (2004) Limited and formerly Infratrain and Roading NZ with time as Chairperson. He also holds Directorships in several private companies.

Kristy Pearl McDonald - QC

Independant Director (Gladstone)

Kristy McDonald was appointed to the Board of WBS in 2012. Kristy is a barrister with extensive experience in commercial, civil, criminal and administrative law. She has undertaken a range of government and public sector inquiries and has been a Crown prosecutor for many years. Kristy is a member of the Crown prosecution panel in Wellington and member of the Serious Fraud Office prosecution panel. As well as being in active practice as a barrister, Kristy has considerable governance experience. She was Chair of the Judicial Control Authority for Racing between 2008 –2015. She is also a director of ACC, Chair of Kiwifruit NZ and an independent member of the MSD Audit and Risk Committee.

Anthony Gerard Beech

Independent Director (Masterton)

Tony Beech was born in Pahiatua and educated in the Wairarapa.  He was a Chief Financial Controller of a large trading company in the UK. Returning home he joined Ernst & Young’s Wellington Office, before coming home to the Wairarapa, where he has been a Partner at Lawson Avery for the last 30 years.  Tony has been heavily involved in the local sport community and chairman of many boards. He has also been honorary auditor for a number of local organisations and charities.

Graham Dean Hayes, Areinz

Director (Masterton)

Dean Hayes joined the Board in 2008. Dean has been in the Real Estate industry for over 40 years and spent 10 years as a regional manager covering the central and southern North Island for a major real estate company. From 1992 he owned and operated a number of Real Estate offices until he retired. Dean currently runs a fattening farm in partnership and is a Director of Rakiraki Punawai Limited.

Adam Graeme Parker, Llb, Bsc

Independant Director (Masterton)

Adam Parker joined the Board in 2016 and is a partner at Gawith Burridge in Masterton. He has a wide range of legal experience with several organisations including competition law at the Commerce Commission, ministerial advice and legislation at the Ministry of Economic Development, Intellectual property law at AJ Park, litigation and general practice. Adam holds Directorships in several trustee companies and has served on the Hadlow School Board and is Honorary Solicitor for a number of local charitable organisations.

Nicholas Fredric Rogers

Independent Director (Gladstone)

Nick joined the Board in 2017 and has been a resident of the Wairarapa for over 11 years.  Nick previously worked for DB Breweries in various commercial and marketing roles and held this position for 17 years before running his own Experience Business, which includes managing the Tui Brewery and Monteith’s Brewery Experiences.  Nick is also affiliated with Wings over Wairarapa, Castle Point Station and the New Zealand National Aviation Centre.

Notice of 2021 Special General Meeting

Notice is hereby given that a Special General Meeting of Members of WBS (the Wairarapa Building Society) will be held: 

Friday 26 February 2021 at 8.30am
WBS (foyer), 75 Queen Street,


  1. To amend WBS rule 19.1 by reducing the minimum number of Directors from 7 to 5.
  2. To transact any general business that may properly be brought before the meeting.


A Member entitled to vote is entitled to appoint another person (whether a member or not) as their proxy to attend and vote. Proxy forms are available from WBS’s registered office during normal business hours. Completed proxy forms shall be deposited with WBS not less than 60 hours before the meeting.

By order of the Board
Jennie Mitchell, Secretary
Masterton, 10 February 2021